The State of Virginity

The State of Virginity
I should like you to be free of all worries. The unmarried man is busy with the Lord's affairs, concerned with pleasing the Lord; but the married man is busy with this world's demands and occupied with pleasing his wife. This means he is divided. The virgin - indeed, any unmarried woman - is concerned with things of the Lord, in pursuit of holiness in body and spirit. The married woman, on the other hand, has the cares of this world to absorb her and concerned with pleasing her husband. I am going into this with you for your own good. I have no desire to place restrictions on you, but I do want to promote what is good, what will help you to devote yourselves entirely to the Lord. 1 Corinthians 7:32-35

Friday, October 23, 2009


The above photos were taken on my way up Calvary Hill on 29 May 2008. One of my dreams is to dress up as a bride and accompany Jerusalem's most eligible bachelor on His way to Calvary. That's why I like to relive again and again the last moments of our Lord's earthly life through the meditation of the sorrowful mysteries and watching Mel Gibson's "The Passion of the Christ". During my stay in Lourdes, I went up Calvary Hill with Jesus almost everyday. One of the highlights of the pilgrimage in Lourdes is the participation in the Way of the Cross. Going through the Way of the Cross is a practical response to the message of repentence, conversion and purification conveyed by our Lady of Lourdes.

The 1500 metre Way of the Cross starts from the side of the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception and winds its way up a wooded hill with its highest point at the XII Station (the crucifixion) and then slopes downwards to the last station and back to the Basilica. There are altogether 115 figures made of brightly painted cast iron at the 15 stations along the Way of the Cross. These slightly larger than life-sized 2 metres high statues were constructed between 1898 and 1911 by the Parisian sculptor Raffi. The Way of the Cross was inaugurated on two different days: the first seven stations on 14 September 1912, the feast of the Glorification of the Cross, the remaining stations on 15 September 1912, the feast of Our Lady of Sorrows. The XVth Station, the Resurrection, is a recent addition.

No comments:

Post a Comment